Lewis Hamilton qualifying incident leads to FIA penalty a…..read more
Carlos Sainz has been handed a three-place grid penalty by the FIA following a controversial qualifying incident that disrupted Lewis Hamilton’s hot lap at the Japanese Grand Prix. The Ferrari star, who moved to Williams this season, found himself under scrutiny after obstructing Hamilton during a crucial moment in Q2.
The drama unfolded at the very start of Hamilton’s flying lap, as he approached Turn 1 at speed, only to find Sainz cruising slowly on the racing line. Hamilton, who ultimately qualified eighth, was forced to take evasive action to avoid a collision, swerving around the obstructing Williams car in a moment that could have ended in disaster.
Despite managing to continue and set a respectable lap time, the interference sparked an immediate review by race stewards. After a thorough investigation involving team radios, car positioning data, and onboard footage, the FIA concluded that Sainz had impeded Hamilton’s qualifying run and issued a grid drop as punishment.
In their official statement, the FIA confirmed that Car 55 (Sainz) was on an in-lap after completing a push lap when Hamilton, in Car 44, was beginning his own flying lap. The stewards highlighted that Hamilton had to leave the track momentarily to avoid contact with Sainz, who was unaware of the fast-approaching Mercedes behind him.
Sainz defended his actions by stating that he had received no warning from his Williams team regarding Hamilton’s approach. He explained that due to Hamilton’s high speed and the angle of his own car, he was unable to spot him in the mirrors. While the stewards acknowledged Sainz’s position, they placed the blame squarely on the team for failing to alert their driver.
The decision emphasizes that the responsibility to avoid such situations lies not only with the driver but also heavily with the team. The FIA added that the standard penalty for impeding during qualifying is a three-place grid drop, regardless of whether the fault lies with the driver or the team.
As a result of the ruling, Sainz, who originally qualified 12th, will now start the race from 15th on the grid. This incident adds further tension to what promises to be an intense Japanese Grand Prix, as Hamilton looks to capitalize on his qualifying position and Sainz aims to recover from the setback.
The penalty has reignited discussions around communication between teams and drivers, and the crucial role it plays during qualifying sessions—especially on circuits as fast and unforgiving as Suzuka.